The Latest Vegan News on Animals, Health & the Environment
Burger King 'Plant-Based' Whopper Ads Banned
Burger King has been banned from showing adverts suggesting its Rebel Whopper, which is cooked alongside meat and contains egg, is vegan-friendly.
The Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) said the chain's claim that the burger is "100% Whopper, no beef" could be understood to mean it did not contain animal products.
Burger King said it had been "clear and transparent" in its marketing.
The Vegan Society said it was a "missed opportunity".
"We communicated from the outset that the Rebel Whopper is aimed at a flexitarian audience," the fast food chain said in a statement.
But the ASA found that Burger King's social media posts about the Rebel Whopper gave the impression it could be eaten by vegans and vegetarians.
The posts included a logo saying "Vegetarian Butcher".
"The green colour palette and the timing of the ad and product release to coincide with 'Veganuary' contributed further to the impression that the product was suitable for vegans and vegetarians," the ASA said.